The John Speed Band to Launch New Album at Grove Hall

Montreal-based band to perform five new songs from newest album No More Cowboys.

Stephanie McBride
Publié le 19 avril 2016

Van Morrison and Neil Young are amongst the artists that most inspire John Speed.


On May 7th at 8:00 P.M., The John Speed Band will launch its new album, No More Cowboys, at Huntingdon’s Grove Hall. The group, which consists of John Speed, bassist Roger Coderre, vocalist Nicole Poissant and backup vocalist and percussionist Joëlle Lanoix, is based out of Montreal.

Performing regularly in local venues across the Chateauguay Valley, the band holds a special place in the hearts of the community. Speed, who is originally from Winnipeg, includes Van Morrison and Neil Young amongst the artists that most inspire him, which is clear when you listen to his music. While the group’s music might be classified as ‘folk’, it also holds the influence of classic rock—apparent when you listen to “Love Song”—a piece that is both romantic and nostalgic, leaving the listener with a plethora of emotions to sort through.

 The band’s new album will include five new songs (“Love Song”, “Take Me In”, “Holy Shame”, “Slip Sliding” and “Tango Bill”), all of which will be showcased during the musical evening. To reserve tickets for the No More Cowboys‘ launching, send an email to